EQ2: Solo Healing Raids

Well if there is one way to stop me dpsing its to shove me in a group as the solo healer.  Oh sure for some easier stuff ill still shove my spade on and go to town with massive flurry crits but last night was a little different.

It all started when I got given the mage group to heal which isn’t surprising for me as an Inquisitor.  What was surprising was I was left to solo heal it all night…. Even when the “scout group” only had 4 members (2 being healers) I was still plugging away myself.

So how did it go then?  Well we started off on the mob in the hole who levels up when he kills someone.  We have been trying him for the last couple of weeks to get a feel for it.  We got him to 39% best try yesterday before he had levelled up too much.  We came to the conclusion that our dps was too low.

My findings from the fight are:  I cant dps this and keep the mages alive at the same time, with the amount of focus I need to give to curing curses and keeping reactives up.

It didn’t help that two of the mages in my group are either new or just returned to raiding and as such their gear lacked either resists, crit mit or HP which tended to make them explode when stood at max range unless I had single target reactives AND group reactives up at the same time on them.  This led me to just do zero dps (apart from some debuffs and maybe a quick burst on the pull) and just keep singles on everyone and group up whenever the charges hit under 5 (<3 13 Charge Malevolent Diatribe!)

In the end we realised we probably didn’t have the current dps in raid to pull this off, we were averaging 300k raid dps over the course of the fight.

We then went on to try the next fight which is 3 bosses by some pillars, we got some idea of what to do now but the execution was off.

We then went into our partially cleared Labs and finished off Perah Celsis before resetting the dungeon and going through it again.  I bought some Chain boots for my assassin which is awesome and stuck in the Fatal Followup red adorn.

We didn’t manage to drop Perah for the 2nd time as for some reason we just could not stop the deaths, again the two mages in my group were esploding (as I called it) and in the end told one of them not to revive.  After a 19 min fight we wiped, perah had healed over 100 million damage and was top healer!  I came in 3rd, WAAAAY above the MT templar. Yay for squishy groups.

My aim for tonight is probably to grind some AA on the Assassin, I still haven’t heard if im allowed to main change yet but any progress on him is good.  I need to get to 200 AA soon so I get most of the toys I want to raid with.  That’s the thing with the Assassin, every AA feels like an upgrade to damage.

However Mrs B will for a fact want to play WoW so may dabble on that for some time too.

Leave a comment